The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Taking a blow for someone else?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Gamemasters -> Taking a blow for someone else? Goto page Previous  1, 2
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Whill
Supreme Chancellor (Site Admin)


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 4353
Location: Columbus, OHIO, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CRMcNeill wrote:
Related question: if a character knows he's going to take a hit, can he use the Preparation rule to add 1D to his Strength roll to resist damage?

Possibly, if it makes sense given the circumstances. I would also possibly allow preparation for a full dodge (mentally planning your course ahead of time).
_________________
*
Site Map
Forum Guidelines
Registration & Log-In Help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bren
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral


Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 3606
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CRMcNeill wrote:
Related question: if a character knows he's going to take a hit, can he use the Preparation rule to add 1D to his Strength roll to resist damage?
Like if you are about to play a game of Irish Stand Down?

Whill wrote:
CRMcNeill wrote:
Related question: if a character knows he's going to take a hit, can he use the Preparation rule to add 1D to his Strength roll to resist damage?

Possibly, if it makes sense given the circumstances. I would also possibly allow preparation for a full dodge (mentally planning your course ahead of time).

What Whill said with a couple of clarifications and caveats.

1. Just like with any other prepared action you have to spend an entire round preparing and you have to take only one action in the second round. If you change your mind and do more than one thing you lose the +1D bonus.

2. Taking the hit only works against brawling (and possibly blunt force) attacks. Absent some alien species weird special ability I don't think a character can prepare their body to take a hit from sharp and pointy things, blasters, firearms, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuclearwookiee
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if I agree or not, but 2ER&E p. 81 says: "Characters generally should not be allowed to prepare for dodges, parries, or driving or piloting skills like repulsorlift operation, space transports and starfighter piloting. Characters probably won't be able to prepare for skills like survival, hide, stamina or swimming, but there may be circumstances when the bonus is justified."

As for preparing for a soak roll, I don't think the preparing rules apply. A character can prepare to "complete a task"--i.e., a skill roll. While rolling strength could be a skill roll (e.g., rolling strength for a stamina check when you don't have the stamina skill), resisting damage isn't a skill check. Therefore, the preparation rules don't apply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuclearwookiee
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, to the OP, you can also just use the cover rules. If the wookiee fears that the fragile techie is going to come under fire and the wookiee beats the bad guys in initiative, the wookiee can simply interpose himself between techie and bad guys and grant the techie a cover bonus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naaman
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 2175

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nuclearwookiee wrote:
Also, to the OP, you can also just use the cover rules. If the wookiee fears that the fragile techie is going to come under fire and the wookiee beats the bad guys in initiative, the wookiee can simply interpose himself between techie and bad guys and grant the techie a cover bonus.


This, of course, presumes that the decision is made before the bad guys have even acted.

I get the feeling that the OP's question deals more with spur of the moment type of situations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 11610
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, ohio.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nuclearwookiee wrote:
I don't know if I agree or not, but 2ER&E p. 81 says: "Characters generally should not be allowed to prepare for dodges, parries, or driving or piloting skills like repulsorlift operation, space transports and starfighter piloting. Characters probably won't be able to prepare for skills like survival, hide, stamina or swimming, but there may be circumstances when the bonus is justified."

As for preparing for a soak roll, I don't think the preparing rules apply. A character can prepare to "complete a task"--i.e., a skill roll. While rolling strength could be a skill roll (e.g., rolling strength for a stamina check when you don't have the stamina skill), resisting damage isn't a skill check. Therefore, the preparation rules don't apply.


Agreed. Now while i COULD see preparing to hide or swimming (mentally collecting yourself), soaking, dodges etc are things that are by nature spur of the moment, so can't be prepared for..

Naaman wrote:

I get the feeling that the OP's question deals more with spur of the moment type of situations.


Yup. It was more for "The pc's have lost initiative to the enemy, and their shots come in (random allocation) at X, V and Q. However Q's character has a low str, and I is standing close to him (within 4 meters), and wishes to try and dodge INTO the path of the bolt, thus taking the blow for Q..
_________________
It's Not who you kill, but how they die!
You cannot dodge it if you do not know it is coming, and you cannot hit it if you do not know its there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Whill
Supreme Chancellor (Site Admin)


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 4353
Location: Columbus, OHIO, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bren wrote:
What Whill said with a couple of clarifications and caveats.

1. Just like with any other prepared action you have to spend an entire round preparing and you have to take only one action in the second round. If you change your mind and do more than one thing you lose the +1D bonus.

2. Taking the hit only works against brawling (and possibly blunt force) attacks. Absent some alien species weird special ability I don't think a character can prepare their body to take a hit from sharp and pointy things, blasters, firearms, etc.

That's reasonable.
_________________
*
Site Map
Forum Guidelines
Registration & Log-In Help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CRMcNeill
Director of Engineering
Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010
Posts: 10693
Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an alternate take on the OP...
    (A) Bodyguard

    Prerequisites: Dodge 5D, Search 5D

    Description: This skill represents specialized training allowing a character to protect another character from physical harm, both by being constantly alert to potential threats and by placing himself between the protectee and the threat.

    Game Use:
    -To use (A) Bodyguard, the character must be 1/2 his Move distance or less from the protectee.

    -On a successful Search roll to spot a threat, roll (A) Bodyguard against Easy Difficulty, then compare the result to the following chart:
      Roll > Difficulty by # = Protection Provided
      0-3 = 1/4 Cover (+1D)
      4-6 = 1/2 Cover (+2D)
      7-9 = 3/4 Cover (+4D)

_________________
"No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
Amazing. Everything you just said was wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Gamemasters All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


v2.0