The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Alternative Initiative (Based on Shadowrun)
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> House Rules -> Alternative Initiative (Based on Shadowrun) Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ray
Commodore
Commodore

Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, North America, Western Hemisphere, Earth, Sol, Western Arm, Milky Way

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:32 pm    Post subject: Alternative Initiative (Based on Shadowrun) Reply with quote

As I am a Freelance author for Shadowrun now (hey folks, I got my start here! WOO!!! Twisted Evil ), my group has playtested the most recent version of the rules.

So, I tried out the most recent version of the Initiative system for Shadowrun using D6, and found it worked quite nicely to narrow down the amount of Initiative rolling, and awarded a bonus to those that rolled really damned well.

Basically, it works like this:

Everyone goes as normal, highest-to-lowest. Then, subtract 10 from the initatives, and do the same thing. Then, subtract another ten, and go on.

So, one PC gets 21, the other PCs get 12, 11, 8, and the NPCs get a whopping 14.

Everyone goes as normal. Then subtract 10. The person who rolled 8 is done, but everyone else gets another go. Then, another 10, and the PC who rolled 21 gets one more go.

New Initiative.

In addition to this, I also ruled that pilots/drivers/beast riders only have to make one Piloting roll for this set. This gives the pilots a chance to do more than just try to Dodge Roll, although if they get a crappy first roll and get a good Initiative, they can try for a better Dodge later on.

My group likes this, but they're used to this system from Playtesting Shadowrun, so maybe it's just them...
garhkal
Sovereign Protector