The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Taking control of an Imperial Nebulon B
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Adventures and Campaigns -> Taking control of an Imperial Nebulon B Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pel
Line Captain
Line Captain


Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 984
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of this is Legends now, but in order:
Death Star I (probably pinned on Tarkin)
ISD Conqueror (probably pinned on Strang)
The Tarkin (maybe pinned on the ghost of Tarkin?)
Death Star II (ok, maybe half the blame)

Now that I think of it, does Vader have a 'Find Believable Patsy' ability? Would that be a Sense power? Laughing
_________________
Aha!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lord Zash
Sub-Lieutenant
Sub-Lieutenant


Joined: 01 Mar 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit: Replying to Garhkal

Yep,

can't remember how many checks they did but they did failed one that was about being directed to a certain hangar inside the Nebulon and I had thought an officer with a scan robot and a bunch of stormtroopers show up ( instead of a small reception if they had succeeded). They were roleplaying so can't remember what they said.

But then they got out the way the office with some good roleplay, the excuse of the Kreegan prisoners and the ship they were bringing so the officer decided to order 3 of his stormtroopers to escorting the PCs (dressed as stormtroopers) to the detention block to leave the Kreegan there. The same lift was going to communications (through special codes, so they got R2 rolling for security to get to communications once they were in the lift and killed the stormtroopers.


Yep, the stormtroopers in the communications room had no penalty for smoke but my players use surprise factor to get rid of 2 of them.

1 imperial operative appeared from another room and nearly shoot one of my PCs. He was immediately called Billy Big B....cks. He died miserably though.


That blast pun Laughing Laughing Laughing


Initiative, I am using pure 1st Ed. initiative. One round for the bad guys was kick door, throw grenade, enter room. The PCs declared something like we fire whatever enters the room or something like that. They lost that so suddenly next round they start with a room full of special forces guys at point blank range. My PCs were all wearing helmets, if they hadn't they I thought I would have ruled they are stunned for the next round or something like that. Actually the 3 Kreegan were completely blinded but they were on the far corner of the room at that moment.

So there is 1PC and friendly NPC in front of them but ducking behind a computer so they said we just duck out the way and if they fire just dodge. But then the guy that spent that Force Point came in from one side of the room. So PC declared 5 shots (-4D penalty), still 8D per segment, vs 5x5D all in 1 segment. PC won the rol so he went first. I rolled ridiculously low through the whole evening so 8D won 1x5D and then the other 4x5D were dodged by the PC and the NPC. Then following segments PC with the Forces killed the other 4, they tried to dodge out the way but they couldn't with the dice penalty.
It's kinda hard to explain without a map and probably I did something wrong rules wise too but made for a cool scene and my player was posting today about it in our Facebook group... so I guess job done. But I shed a small tear for my 5 spec force dudes.... Crying or Very sad

Again, a quick note I'm not the biggest Star Wars fan ever. I love the setting and the films but that's about it, so you guys might read things here that will make you facepalm! (as my knowledge of lore is veeeery limited).


Last edited by Lord Zash on Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 12218
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Initiative, I am using pure 1st Ed. initiative


Ahh.. That explains it..
_________________
Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sutehp
Commodore
Commodore


Joined: 01 Nov 2016
Posts: 1575
Location: Washington, DC (AKA Inside the Beltway)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CRMcNeill wrote:
Sutehp wrote:
When did Vader ever lose a warship? It's not like he lost the Death Star; that was Tarkin's messup...

Pel, let me know when Vader lost a warship because I'm completely blanking on when this occurred. Thanks.

I can think of two; the ISD that got zapped by the ion cannon at Hoth, and the one that took a direct hit to the bridge tower from asteroid later on. Other losses can be assumed from anecdotal evidence in the EU. In the RASB, for example, there is a story montage at the beginning of the Alliance Intelligence chapter that culminates in the successful ambush of an Imperial taskforce by a trio of Mon Cal Cruisers.


To be fair, the ISD that got zapped by Hoth's ion cannon was disabled, not destroyed, because, y'know, ion cannon. That wasn't a loss because being disabled by an ion cannon isn't permanent. We don't see it onscreen, but it's more than likely that it was repaired offscreen and rejoined the Death Squadron later on. I wouldn't consider that ISD as a loss for the Empire.

As for the ISD that got its conning tower smashed by an asteroid, that's somewhat easier to justify as one of Vader's losses, but it's obvious from Vader's (lack of) reaction during the hologram conference call in TESB that he considers the loss of the ISD in Hoth's asteroid field as an acceptable loss. He certainly doesn't seem at all worried that the Emperor is going to punish him for losing an ISD during the pursuit of what can only be considered a personal vendetta (namely, capturing the Falcon to get to Luke). And even then, once Vader convinces the Emperor that turning Luke to the Dark Side would be advantageous, even the loss of an ISD in exchange for another powerful Darksider seems more than acceptable for both Vader and the Emperor.

So yeah, while the two "losses" did occur under Vader's watch, it would seem they could be considered collateral damage rather than military casualties that an incompetent commander would or should be punished for. Certainly, the Emperor never punished Vader for these losses, so they seem to be considered collateral damage rather than punishable failures in-universe.
_________________
Sutehp's RPG Goodies
Only some of it is for D6 Star Wars.
Just repurchased the X-Wing and Tie Fighter flight sim games. I forgot how much I missed them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Adventures and Campaigns All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


v2.0