The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Sword lock and a punch to the face!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> House Rules -> Sword lock and a punch to the face! Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Naaman
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:45 pm    Post subject: Sword lock and a punch to the face! Reply with quote

I've been turning this one over in my head for a couple of years, and here's what I've come up with recently.

We see in many movies opponents sword fighting who manage to land a couple of good punches or kicks in the middle of the fight.

However, most RPGs don't really allow for this without somehow introducing overly complicated rules or the character having to purchase "special abilities." For example, in d20, the "attack of opportunity" prevents a character from making an unarmed attack against an armed defender (even though the attacker may also be armed). In D6, an armed opponent gets a bonus on his parry rolls if you are unarmed, however, in some cases (lightsabers come to mind), you'd just lose your arm if your opponent "blocked" with his weapon.

Yet, we see in many lightsaber fights, people get punched or kicked, despite their opponent's lightsaber.

So, here's what I've come up with:

If the attack roll and the parry roll are exactly equal, both players may immediately roll brawling. The character who rolls higher hits his opponent, and rolls damage as normal.

It's fast, simple and easy to incorporate.

There is no opportunity to roll brawling parry, since you're already busy parrying your opponent's weapon.