The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Zulgyan's Newbie SW 1E Questions
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> First Edition and IAG -> Zulgyan's Newbie SW 1E Questions Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zulgyan
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 10:26 pm    Post subject: Zulgyan's Newbie SW 1E Questions Reply with quote

Hi all! I'm a veteran D&D DM and a SW original trilogy fan, but I'm new to the d6 SW game. I don't have access to the real 1E rulebook, so I'll be using the "Classic Adventures" booklets, so generously provided on this site (big thanks!).

I'll be dumping some questions here, for any of you who might want to help me out to get into the d6 SW game. I'll be running a game for people who have never played an RPG before, so I want to keep the rules light and simple.

1. So according to the rules, every character begins with a Force Point, and the manual speaks about the character "trusting the force" to use it. I was wondering if people have a better way to explain the application of this rule (which works as a story element in the game) for Han Solo type characters who are cynical about the force and don't really trust it. Should the use of the force just represent their "heoric luck"? In that case, is it the character or the player who is really invoking the help of the force? Should a character cynical about the force be unaware of its influence? The player might be the one deciding that the Force Point is being used, but the character is really unaware and just calls it luck. What I don't like so much about this is that it becomes kinda metagamy. What do most people do?