The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Starting force powers
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules -> Starting force powers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Snapshot
Cadet
Cadet


Joined: 04 Jun 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:58 pm    Post subject: Starting force powers Reply with quote

I've seen some discussion on the Rancor Pit about the number of force powers a character has at the start of the game, but not on which powers they can have/take.

How do you normally handle this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naaman
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 2408

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just go by the RAW prereqs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raven Redstar
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral


Joined: 10 Mar 2009
Posts: 2104
Location: Pullman, WA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's up to character backstory and GM approval, and if the character has the necessary prerequisite powers.
_________________
RR
________________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mamatried
Captain
Captain


Joined: 16 Dec 2017
Posts: 545
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking through the various templates, most of the "original" ones had 1 power pr 1D at atart, but advanced at 1 power pr pip.

I am not sure the rules actually state how many you can have if you spend some of your 7D skills, on the three force skills though.

if this is then 1 pr pip, then you should be fairly well trained fresh out of creation, but at a cost of the rest of the skills. so nit sure exactly how the rules handle it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 11934
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raven Redstar wrote:
It's up to character backstory and GM approval, and if the character has the necessary prerequisite powers.


This. If he's learned it from a master as part of his backstory, the master controled what he learned.. (IE THE GM).. If he's self taught (like a quixotic jedi), he could pick, but can't learn anything that has pre-reqs..

Mamatried wrote:
Looking through the various templates, most of the "original" ones had 1 power pr 1D at atart, but advanced at 1 power pr pip.

I am not sure the rules actually state how many you can have if you spend some of your 7D skills, on the three force skills though.

if this is then 1 pr pip, then you should be fairly well trained fresh out of creation, but at a cost of the rest of the skills. so nit sure exactly how the rules handle it.


I've always seen it as the 1 point per pip when advancing it as what you get once you've Started gaming, during cha creation i've always defaulted to 1 per D.. So place 2d into control, have 3 powers.
_________________
It's Not who you kill, but how they die!
You cannot dodge it if you do not know it is coming, and you cannot hit it if you do not know its there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


v2.0