The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Telekinesis & Time To Use
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> House Rules -> Telekinesis & Time To Use Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Darklighter79
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 May 2018
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CRMcNeill wrote:
garhkal wrote:
I've mentioned, in the past, about how sweet it might be to have a 'redirect' power linked to AB/Dis, that has A/D as a pre-req, so someone could do an impersonation of Bishop from the X-men.. BUT i am not sure what diff it would have..

Make it a C/S power, with the same Difficulty as Ab/Dis (but with the MAP from rolling C/S), and on success, just use the rules for deflecting blaster bolts under Lightsaber Combat.


And be sure to clarify if hands are obligatory or optional (or other body parts). Wink
_________________
Don’t Let the Rules Get in the Way of a Good Story.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 12205
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CRMcNeill wrote:
garhkal wrote:
I've mentioned, in the past, about how sweet it might be to have a 'redirect' power linked to AB/Dis, that has A/D as a pre-req, so someone could do an impersonation of Bishop from the X-men.. BUT i am not sure what diff it would have..

Make it a C/S power, with the same Difficulty as Ab/Dis (but with the MAP from rolling C/S), and on success, just use the rules for deflecting blaster bolts under Lightsaber Combat.


How's about

Reflection
C/S power.
Moderate control diff
Difficult Sense diff, or target's dodge.
Pre-req, Ab dis

NOTE USING THIS POWER in such a manner as it actually causes an opponent a wound or greater, earns a DSP.

With this power, a jedi can, once he's absorbed an energy attack, redirect it elsewhere. Say into destroying the cover an opponent's using, or even into a blast back at that opponent.

They can redirect up to 1d of damage, for every 2d of control they have.
??
_________________
Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRMcNeill
Director of Engineering
Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010
Posts: 12357
Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't go with the DSP; after all, the only time we actually see this power used on screen, Yoda redirects Dooku's Force Lightning right back at him, with Dooku then, in turn, deflecting it back up to the ceiling.
_________________
"No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.

The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Darklighter79
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 May 2018
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have also my doubts against DPS. Technically it's the same as LSC but without a weapon. Jedi do not get DSP for redirecting shots.
_________________
Don’t Let the Rules Get in the Way of a Good Story.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRMcNeill
Director of Engineering
Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010
Posts: 12357
Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, drop the 1D reflected for every 2D absorbed. This just has A/D as a prerequisite; he’s not absorbing or dissipating it, he’s deflecting it away.
_________________
"No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.

The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index


Last edited by CRMcNeill on Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Naaman
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 2565

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CRMcNeill wrote:
Don't forget Force Points. That situation was sufficiently dire that she could have FP'd her Control roll to have a chance of soaking the damage. And if I, Jedi has it right, once she soaked the initial roll, she would've had enough extra D rolling in from converting the absorbed energy to potential Force energy that she could do the super-powered TK Push on Malgus.


Even still: the difficulty of absorb/dissipate is moderate PLUS the damage dealt, which is 5D PLUS control. You would need ~9D in control to reliably pull off absorb/dissipate on just the 5D damage, let alone Malgus' control dice being added to that.

I do tend to interpret what she did there as being a substantial feat of force mastery, regardless of whether it cost a force point or not: it's not something that any other character has ever attempted, and it surprised the daylights out of Malgus, as well.

However, I choose to interpret that scene as Satele just being more powerful than Malgus (and having a particularly high level of skill with absorb/dissipate and telekinesis/force strike/push or whatever it's called).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRMcNeill
Director of Engineering
Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010
Posts: 12357
Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naaman wrote:
Even still: the difficulty of absorb/dissipate is moderate PLUS the damage dealt, which is 5D PLUS control. You would need ~9D in control to reliably pull off absorb/dissipate on just the 5D damage, let alone Malgus' control dice being added to that.

I'm willing to bet Sateele Shan's Control was higher than 5D, so this isn't a problem for me. And no one has ever clarified exactly what form the Control boost to damage takes on a lightsaber. I've always found it a little suspect. Unless the Jedi is actually using the Force to boost the power of the weapon (which is kind of silly, really), any bonus would be the result of using the guidance of the Force to place the blade with pinpoint accuracy where it will do the most damage, and there are other ways that could be accomplished.

Quote:
I do tend to interpret what she did there as being a substantial feat of force mastery, regardless of whether it cost a force point or not: it's not something that any other character has ever attempted, and it surprised the daylights out of Malgus, as well.

However, I choose to interpret that scene as Satele just being more powerful than Malgus (and having a particularly high level of skill with absorb/dissipate and telekinesis/force strike/push or whatever it's called).

I went back and watched the clip, just to make sure. The Absorb/Dissipate use was actually at a stalemate until Malgus was attacked by the Republic Trooper (was he ever given a name?) with the grenade sneak attack. Shan hit him with the Force push as he was recovering.

As for the rest of it, I get the sense that you're describing it based on your evolving view of Force powers, and while I'm the last one to fault you for coming up with your own house rules, I do get the sense that we are talking past each other in regards to how the Force is applied in the game. Are you talking about treating Absorb/Dissipate and Force Push as actual skills to be improved, ala the witches of Dathomir?
_________________
"No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.

The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 12205
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CRMcNeill wrote:
I wouldn't go with the DSP; after all, the only time we actually see this power used on screen, Yoda redirects Dooku's Force Lightning right back at him, with Dooku then, in turn, deflecting it back up to the ceiling.


Well, based on the films luke shouldn't have had a DSP at the start of ROTJ because of force choking the gammoreans, nor would Yoda have earned one in ROTS when he TK slammed those two royal guardsmen into the wall..
_________________
Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRMcNeill
Director of Engineering
Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010
Posts: 12357
Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

garhkal wrote:
Well, based on the films luke shouldn't have had a DSP at the start of ROTJ because of force choking the gammoreans, nor would Yoda have earned one in ROTS when he TK slammed those two royal guardsmen into the wall..

Well, based on ALL the films, there is a strong case to be made that using TK as an attack is not an inherently DSP worthy act, regardless of what WEG says. It was questionable even how they justified it in RotJ.
_________________
"No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.

The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> House Rules All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Page 6 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


v2.0