The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Do soak rolls decrease by consecutive shots in a round?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules -> Do soak rolls decrease by consecutive shots in a round?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pakman
Ensign
Ensign


Joined: 20 Jul 2021
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 12:25 am    Post subject: Do soak rolls decrease by consecutive shots in a round? Reply with quote

in a conversation about high powered characters on facebook, someone made this comment;

According to the faq from the gamemasters screen update to the 2nd ed revised ruleset.
Degrading resistance applies to consecutive hits in a round to species as well at a penalty of 1d per successful hit in a single round.
Following rounds reset the resistance.

From the screen with Boba Fett and inside the FAQ that came with it was the updates. It was like 4 pages.


IF this is the case - this would be a very big deal.

Anyone know;

1 - Are successive damage resistance rolls get lower in a round?
2 - Is there an official R&E Faq that came with the GM screen?

If it is not a verifiable does anyone house rule it?
_________________
SW Fan, Gamer, Comic, Corporate nerd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Whill
Supreme Chancellor (Owner/Admin)


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 8437
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 1:56 am    Post subject: Re: Do soak rolls decrease by consecutive shots in a round? Reply with quote

pakman wrote:
in a conversation about high powered characters on facebook, someone made this comment;

According to the faq from the gamemasters screen update to the 2nd ed revised ruleset.
Degrading resistance applies to consecutive hits in a round to species as well at a penalty of 1d per successful hit in a single round.
Following rounds reset the resistance.

From the screen with Boba Fett and inside the FAQ that came with it was the updates. It was like 4 pages.


IF this is the case - this would be a very big deal.

Anyone know;

1 - Are successive damage resistance rolls get lower in a round?
2 - Is there an official R&E Faq that came with the GM screen?

If it is not a verifiable does anyone house rule it?

I just found and read that exchange. I bought mine sealed brand new when it first came out, and there was no such 4-page FAQ insert. So unlike you in that thread, I am calling him a liar, or at least a spreader of false memories.

There was a 4-page insert with pre-Rules_Companion 1e products that served as the games first Rules Upgrade. But that was for 1e and it had nothing like what he was saying.

And something like what he is describing would not be an FAQ, because FAQs are clarifications. That would be a rules upgrade or at least an "optional rule" because this directly opposes an explicit rule in the R&E Free Actions section on p.80:

Quote:
A character always rolls his full Strength to resist damage (even if wounded)

"Always" was even the book's emphasis, not mine.

He could believe what he says so maybe isn't lying. A phenomenon I've noticed in the fandom of this game is that GMs house rule things and play with them for so long that they sometimes forget it was a house rule. Among GMs I have an above average grasp of RAW, but even I did this at least in one respect. At some point after D6 Space came out in 2004, Grimace told me he adopted one of its Initiative options, and then I adopted it and later misremembered that as SW R&E RAW. I had posts here where I referred to my way of doing it as RAW, and no one corrected me. Years later I realized my RAW misquote error and posted about it.

I try to give people the benefit of the doubt, but the thing that is suspect here is that he was so specific about the origin of this supposed rules change, a 4-page insert in a specific book that simply does not exist. I replied in that thread and repeated your request for him to scan the insert and share it so we can see it.
_________________
*
Site Map
Forum Guidelines
Registration/Log-In Help
The Rancor Pit Library
Star Wars D6 Damage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 13200
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tell him to give us proof.. SCAN IT AND SHOW IT..

That said, it would help eliminate the whole 'bulletproof wookie' issue.
_________________
Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pakman
Ensign
Ensign


Joined: 20 Jul 2021
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am going to assuming something is a mistake before maliciousness - especially given the context. (we are talking a game about spaceships not in divorce court settling an estate).

It would however change a lot - so I do want to know what is up.
I suspect it is either something from another game, or a fan product or what ever.

Now in regards to garhkal comment about wookies - ironically - that was the exact content the comment was about.

Now, as I don't want to derail THIS thread, I may start another in house rules on understanding how various GM's handle that ... (I have my way, but curious as to others).
_________________
SW Fan, Gamer, Comic, Corporate nerd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Whill
Supreme Chancellor (Owner/Admin)


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 8437
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pakman wrote:
I am going to assuming something is a mistake before maliciousness - especially given the context. (we are talking a game about spaceships not in divorce court settling an estate).

It would however change a lot - so I do want to know what is up.
I suspect it is either something from another game, or a fan product or what ever.

It's probably a house rule he was a player under, and he is misremembering the origin of it. Maybe it is even just some BS someone else told him and he believed it, so he is repeating it. Like I said, I try to give people the benefit of the doubt, but I can't help but frown upon careless inaccuracy. Some people don't try very hard to be factual. I'm man enough to admit when I was incorrect about something and have publicly done it on this forum several times (even years later), but I try to not be incorrect very often. When I was a kid and the internet wasn't a public thing yet, it was foretold to be the dawning of the Information Age. Those idealistic people didn't see that it is just as easy (if not easier) to spread misinformation.
_________________
*
Site Map
Forum Guidelines
Registration/Log-In Help
The Rancor Pit Library
Star Wars D6 Damage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 13200
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2021 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's why i want to see a scan of it, before i call foul..
_________________
Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mamatried
Commodore
Commodore


Joined: 16 Dec 2017
Posts: 1447
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could this be a case of applying <MAP> to the Damage Resistance rolle on multiple hits/rolls?
If that is the case I, then this is a misunderstanding of the MAP and combat rules I would think
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Whill
Supreme Chancellor (Owner/Admin)


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 8437
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2021 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whill wrote:
That would be a rules upgrade or at least an "optional rule" because this directly opposes an explicit rule in the R&E Free Actions section on p.80:

Quote:
A character always rolls his full Strength to resist damage (even if wounded)

"Always" was even the book's emphasis, not mine.

Mamatried wrote:
Could this be a case of applying <MAP> to the Damage Resistance rolle on multiple hits/rolls?
If that is the case I, then this is a misunderstanding of the MAP and combat rules I would think

It's not really a MAP because if it was, all actions would affect all Damage Resistance rolls starting with the first one in a round. The stated penalty was only for DR rolls after the first one, and successively got worse with each one. Yikes! Sounds like a very specific house rule.
_________________
*
Site Map
Forum Guidelines
Registration/Log-In Help
The Rancor Pit Library
Star Wars D6 Damage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


v2.0