The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

AI Art
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Artwork -> AI Art
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ebertran
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2023 12:09 am    Post subject: AI Art Reply with quote

Does The Rancor Pit have an official stance on AI art posted oj the site?
I am fine using AI art, it is what it is, the genie is out of the bottle, but a lot of people have ethical concerns about it, and I want to gauge what the feel for it is here before I post AI stuff.
KageRyu
Commodore
Commodore

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2023 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am unsure of the Pit's official stance. As an artist I have mixed feelings on it. I would love to have ready access to AI tools to use, though I would likely not use the results as generated. I had long joked with friends that "I need a computer I can just describe my ideas to and have it done." and here we are. So I recognize it's potential. I think most of the ethical concerns are related to the fact that AI is trained by "feeding" it other peoples art, sometimes without the artists consent - and I also agree this is not a good thing for mass use. For private use, if I had the skill and ability to build up and train an AI on my own work to generate works in my style from my prompts, that would be truly fantastic.

As Star Wars is a property owned by large companies, I am unsure if AI art would be considered Fan Art. I feel it should be acceptable if it is free for community use, with attribution, as Fan Art generated by AI.
Whill
Dark Lord of the Jedi (Owner/Admin)

Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy